How does Flexmail prepare itself for the GDPR?

Last updated: 17/05/2018

GDPR compliancy is about much more than just your email marketing. There is a good chance that you will have to restructure your contacts. In order to help you with this process, we have developed our own GDPR Contact Converter. It will be launched at the beginning of May. It is a tool to clean up your existing lists and merge them all together into one tidy database in your Flexmail account.

Why do I need to switch to a single list in Flexmail?

When you use several lists, there is a good chance that contacts will occur more than once in your contact management. In itself this is not a problem, but it makes managing consents and unsubscriptions that much more complex. In order to be GDPR compliant with your email communications, we thus strongly advise you to switch over within Flexmail to a single main list. Via segmentation, several target groups can be distinguished. By using a preference centre, you can simply and clearly manage unsubscriptions for your various communications within your database.


What does the GDPR contact converter do?

As a Flexmail client, you used to have the option of creating several lists in the application. Come 25 May 2018, that will be out of order. To prevent you losing contacts and to ensure that they are stored in an organised manner, we have created a special tool that merges your lists into one large database with various segments. This will allow you to develop an organised database and to easily and swiftly dispense with any conflicts. In order to make your contact data GDPR compliant, you will need to tidy up your contact lists. Naturally, exporting your data and putting them in order are time-consuming tasks.

How long will the update take?

The time your update will take will depend on the number of contacts you have. We would advise you to do this update when things are quiet. Logic dictates that the more lists you need to update, the longer it will take. So, don’t start panicking if the update takes longer than you expected.

What can I do to make the transition as smooth as possible?

  • We would advise you to import all your lists in one go. You can always pause the process but do bear in mind that, if you do, your contacts won’t be able to reach you for longer.
  • We expect that many companies will get down to adjusting their lists the week before the GDPR is due to come into effect, i.e. 25 May 2018. As this is likely to cause delays, we would advise you to start early.
  • Also put some though in the time you will be getting down to this job at. Starting your update later in the day/during the evening instead of between 09:00 and 17:00 will speed up matters no end.
  • Make sure not to update your lists straight after a mailing as neither you nor your contacts will be able to access Flexmail during the process. Postponing a mailing will reduce the risk of missing out on contacts.
  • Check your lists before your start to see whether they are still up to date or usable.

GDPR Contact Converter

Unique key

When importing contacts you must always select a reference field. In Flexmail, the default reference field will be the e-mail address but you can also select your own field here, like a customer number for instance.
A reference field is a set of alphanumerical characters that are unique to a specific contact.
 

Source field

As one of the requirements under the GDPR is that you know the origin of your contacts, it is essential to enter the correct source. By default, the name of the former ‘sub list’ is entered here. Some examples of sources are: ‘2018 trade fair X’ and ‘Opt-in form homepage website’.
Contacts can come from more than one source.
 

Language

Each contact is assigned a language. This means that this becomes a selection field instead of an optional field. By default, the values you enter are translated into ISO values. The contact converter will allow you to assign a language to any contacts in respect of whom that information was missing.

Organisation

Up and until now, you were working with several lists of contacts. Once the update effected, you will have 1 large database divided into segments. On the basis of these segments, you will be able to individually contact your various target groups to your heart’s content.

Old list

New list

How are you preparing yourself for the arrival of the GDPR?

To dispense with any concerns you may have in relation to the GDPR, we compiled a list of things you could start focusing on now to ensure that, by 25 May 2018, your company too will be fully GDPR compliant.

Awareness

  • Check various sources so that you understand what the GDPR entails and what you need to do to be compliant. Click here to read some of the comprehensive articles we have published in the past.
  • Make sure that everyone in the company is au fait with the GDPR. Responsibility does not lie with one department but is a team effort. You could always organise a workshop to make sure that everyone knows exactly what is expected of them.
  • Appoint a key figure who knows the ropes and who is able to assess what needs to be done.

Inventory

  • Check what data you keep on record, for how long, where they came from and whom you share them with.
  • Create a database. As of 25 May 2018, you will be bound by an obligation to notify, meaning that any data leaks will have to be reported to the authorities within 72 hours.

Update your documents

Only personal data that are required in the context of the services you provide can be processed. As data cannot be stored indefinitely, we strongly advise you to check important documents, such as agreements, terms of business, privacy policies and suchlike. You may need to amend/update them to be compliant with the Regulation.

Consent

The upcoming legislation revolves around consent. As the law is designed to protect citizens, your customers’ consent must be given freely, be specific, informed and unambiguous. In addition, customers must actively consent to their data being stored. This, for one, means that you are no longer allowed to send out forms with pre-checked boxes. When dealing with minors, you will be obliged to seek a parent’s or guardian’s consent.

Spell out things in plain language

One of the main issues that gave rise to the introduction of the GDPR is that people were keen to know what their personal data are used for. They demanded more transparency which is what the new legislation will deliver. Come 25 May 2018, you will have to spell out:
 
  • What you use the data for
  • How long you will store them for
  • Whether you will be sharing them
  • Whether you will be sharing them outside of the EU
  • ...

What rights do your customers have?

  • The right of information and access to their personal data
  • The right to have their data rectified
  • The right to be forgotten
  • The right to object to direct marketing practises, profiling and automated decision-making
  • The right to data portability
As of 25 May 2018, requests relating to any of the above will have to be acted on by law. So, make sure to have procedures in place to deal with any such requests.

Should I appoint a Data Protection Officer?

Only government bodies or companies who regularly process personal data on a large scale, like direct marketing companies, are obliged to appoint a DPO. That obligation can be met by appointing an external consultant or a member of staff as privacy prevention adviser.
 
By keeping these guidelines in mind you will be on the right track towards turning the GDPR into an opportunity rather than seeing it as a problem!

Comment Flexmail se prépare-t-elle à l’introduction du GDPR?

Last updated: 17/05/2018

La conformité au RGPD ne se limite pas à l’e-mail marketing.  Il y a de grandes chances que vous deviez restructurer vos contacts. Pour vous y aider, nous avons mis au point notre propre GDPR Contact Converter. Cet outil que nous lancerons début mai vous permettra de nettoyer vos listes existantes et de les fusionner en une seule base de données nettoyée intégrée à votre compte Flexmail.

Pourquoi dois-je passer à une seule liste en Flexmail ?

Si vous utilisez plusieurs listes, il y a de grandes chances que certains contacts apparaissent plusieurs dois dans votre gestion des contacts. En soi, ce n’est pas un problème, mais cela complique fortement la gestion des autorisations et des désinscriptions. Pour faire en sorte que votre communication par e-mail soit conforme au RGPD, nous vous recommandons dès lors de passer dans Flexmail à une seule liste principale. La segmentation vous permettra de distinguer plusieurs groupes cibles. En recourant à un preference center, vous pourrez gérer en toute simplicité et en toute clarté les désinscriptions pour vos différentes communications au sein de votre base de données.


Que fait le contact converter ?

En tant que client de Flexmail, vous aviez autrefois la possibilité de créer plusieurs listes dans l’application. À partir du 25 mai 2018, ce ne sera plus possible. Pour que vos contacts ne soient pas perdus et pour vous permettre d’en conserver un aperçu, nous avons créé un outil qui fusionne vos listes en une grande base de données composée de plusieurs segments. Peu à peu, vous allez ainsi développer une base de données claire et vous pourrez résoudre aisément et rapidement les conflits qui se présentent.
Pour rendre les données de vos contacts conformes au RGPD, vous allez devoir nettoyer vos listes de contacts. Il va sans dire que l’exportation et le nettoyage de ces données constituent une opération laborieuse.
 

Combien de temps dure la mise à jour ?

La durée de la mise à jour dépend du nombre de contacts. Nous recommandons de procéder à cette mise à jour à un moment paisible. Si vous avez actuellement beaucoup de listes, la mise à jour peut durer longtemps. Si vous avez peu de listes, elle ira assez vite. Ne vous inquiétez donc pas si vous constatez que votre mise à jour se prolonge.

Que puis-je faire pour faciliter un maximum la transition ?

  • Nous vous recommandons de réaliser la transition de toutes vos listes en une seule fois. Vous pouvez interrompre le processus, mais cela ne fera que prolonger la période pendant laquelle vous serez injoignable pour vos contacts.
  • Nous nous attendons à ce que nombre d’entreprises adaptent leurs listes durant la semaine du 25 mai 2018, ce qui pourra engendrer un certain retard. Tenez-en compte et réalisez votre transition plus tôt.
  • Nous vous recommandons aussi de bien réfléchir au moment que vous allez choisir. Si vous lancez la mise à jour plus tard dans la journée de travail ou le soir, elle sera beaucoup plus fluide qu’entre 9 et 17 heures.
  • Veillez à ne pas réaliser la mise à jour juste après un mailing. Pendant le processus, ni vous ni vos contacts n’avez en effet accès à Flexmail. En différant un mailing, vous réduisez le risque de manquer des contacts.
  • Jetez au préalable un coup d’œil à vos listes pour vérifier si elles sont encore actuelles ou utilisables.

GDPR Contact Converter

Clé unique

Lors de l’importation de contacts, vous devez toujours choisir un champ de référence. Par défaut, il s’agit dans Flexmail de l’adresse e-mail, mais vous pouvez naturellement aussi choisir votre propre champ, par exemple le numéro de client.
 

Champ de source

Le RGPD exige que l’origine de tous les contacts soit connue. C’est pourquoi il est important de mentionner la source correcte. Par défaut, ce champ mentionnera le nom de l’ancienne « sous-liste ». Des exemples de sources peuvent être « Salon X 2018 » ou « Formulaire opt-in page d’accueil site web ».
Un même contact peut avoir plusieurs sources.
 

Langue

Tous les contacts se voient attribuer une langue. Cela signifie que la langue devient un champ à options et non plus un champ libre. Par défaut, nous transposerons les valeurs que vous introduisez en valeurs ISO. Pour les contacts pour lesquels aucune langue n’est mentionnée, vous pourrez attribuer une langue dans le contact converter.

Classement

Autrefois, vous aviez plusieurs listes de contacts. À présent, ces listes seront fusionnées en une seule base de données contenant des segments. Sur la base de ces segments, vous serez donc toujours en mesure de vous adresser à un groupe spécifique de contacts.

Old list

New list

Comment vous préparer à l’avènement du RGPD ?

Le RGPD est une source de préoccupations au sein de nombreuses entreprises. Pour cette raison, nous avons récapitulé ici les démarches que vous devriez entreprendre dès à présent pour être en règle avec le RGPD d’ici le 25 mai 2018.

Prise de conscience

  • Consultez différentes sources afin de bien comprendre les implications du RGPD et les mesures à prendre pour vous y conformer. Vous pouvez lire ici des articles plus détaillés que nous avons consacrés à ce thème.
  • Veillez à ce que tout le monde soit au courant au sein de l’entreprise. Le respect du RGPD ne relève pas de la responsabilité d’un seul département. Il s’agit d’un effort collectif. Vous pouvez éventuellement organiser un atelier pour faire en sorte que chacun sache exactement ce que l’on attend de lui.
  • Désignez éventuellement un interlocuteur unique qui dispose d’une vue d’ensemble de la situation et est ainsi à même d’évaluer ce qu’il y a lieu de mettre en œuvre au sein de l’entreprise.

Inventaire

  • Vérifiez quelles données vous conservez, pendant combien de temps, d’où elles viennent et avec qui vous les partagez.
  • Créez une base de données. À partir du 25 mai, votre entreprise sera investie d’un devoir de notification. Dès ce moment, vous devrez obligatoirement signaler une fuite de données dans les 72 heures aux autorités.

Mise à jour de vos documents

Les données personnelles ne peuvent être traitées que si ce traitement est indispensable à l’exécution de vos services. Par ailleurs, les données ne peuvent pas être conservées à l’infini. Mieux vaut donc vérifier vos documents importants tels contrats, conditions générales, déclaration de protection de la vie privée, etc. Il se peut que vous deviez les adapter/mettre à jour afin de satisfaire à la législation.

Consentement

Le consentement est le fer de lance de la nouvelle législation, qui a été créée dans le but de protéger les citoyens. Pour cette raison, le consentement que le client donne doit être libre, spécifique, éclairé et univoque. Par ailleurs, le client doit véritablement poser une action pour que l’on soit autorisé à l’enregistrer. Cela signifie que plus aucune case ne peut être cochée à l’avance. Si le client est mineur, un parent ou tuteur doit donner son consentement.

Clarté

L’un des principaux problèmes – et aussi l’une des principales raisons de l’introduction du RGPD – est que les gens voulaient savoir ce qu’il advenait de leurs données personnelles. Ils exigeaient une plus grande transparence et la nouvelle réglementation l’a créée. À partir du 25 mai, vous devrez indiquer clairement :
 
  • à quelles fins vous utilisez les données ;
  • combien de temps vous allez les conserver ;
  • si vous allez les échanger ;
  • si vous allez les échanger en dehors de l’UE ;
  • ...

Quels sont les droits du client ?

  • Droit à l’information et à l’accès à ses données personnelles
  • Droit à la rectification des données
  • Droit à l’oubli
  • Droit de s’opposer aux pratiques de marketing direct, de profilage et de prise de décision automatisée
  • Droit à la portabilité des données
Après le 25 mai 2018, il sera obligatoire de donner suite à ces demandes. Veillez donc à mettre au point des procédures à cette fin.

Dois-je désigner un Data Protection Officer ?

L’obligation de désigner un DPO ne vaut que pour les organismes publics ou pour les entreprises qui traitent régulièrement des données à caractère personnel à grande échelle, comme les entreprises de marketing direct. Vous pouvez désigner un consultant externe ou une personne travaillant en interne pour remplir ce rôle. Cette personne devient alors en quelque sorte un conseiller en prévention en charge de la protection de la vie privée.
Si vous gardez ces directives à l’esprit, vous pourrez faire en sorte que le nouveau RGPD, au lieu d’être un problème, constitue pour vous une opportunité !